Summer Orchestra Camp 2022



August 2022

The Event

Our programme in August 2022 with the music and art-infused Krajnčan family.
With their parents Lojze and Romana being respected musicians who have been co-creating the Slovenian musical landscape for decades, it is extremely inspiring to follow the paths of their sons Kristijan and Žigan. Both of them have been kneading music in many directions, creating it, recreating it with all their senses and movement, and intertwining it with other genres and arts. All members of the family are collaborators and co-authors. At the same time, they allow themselves and each other freedom in their own artistic language, while inspiring each other as artists in their own right.

Alongside a programme that showcased all the members of this artistic family, we also prepared and played works by the English composer Gustav Holst, a selection from the orchestral suite The Planets, op.32, and a piece by the Mexican composer Arturo Márquez, Danzón No.2.


This year's intensive music programme with sectional rehearsals, group rehearsals, full orchestra rehearsals with guests and chamber music was conducted by renowned Slovenian musicians, professors and members of our most prominent symphony orchestras as well as former participants of our international activities. The participants were permanent members of the Slovenian Youth Orchestra and young Ukrainian musicians who are in Slovenia due to the emergency situation or war and have the status of protected persons. The orchestra was led by conductor Živa Ploj Peršuh.

The concert took place on 25 August 2022 as part of the Ljubljana Festival, on the stage of the Križanke Summer Theatre.

Mr Holst: Selection from the suite The Planets, Op. 32
Jupiter - the Bringer of Jollity
Saturn - the Bringer of Old Age
B. Štampe Žmavc/ L. Krajnčan/ L. Krajnčan: I miss it, I miss it
F. Lainšček/ L. Krajnčan/ L. Krajnčan: Love
B. Rudolf/ M. Vodopivec/ L. Krajnčan: A fierce ant
F. Lainšček/ L. Krajnčan/ L. Krajnčan: I was happy today
L. Krajnčan: Tango
Slov. folk, arr. L. Krajnčan: Green George
L. Krajnčan, arr. L. Krajnčan:Requiem
J. S. Bach, arr. L. Krajnčan:Brandenburg Concerto No.3 in G major, BWV 1048
Ž. Krajnčan, arr. L. Krajnčan: Oma Desala
Ž. Krajnčan, arr. L. Krajnčan: Sunlight reggae
A. Márquez Navarro: Danzon No 2

  • Share:

The project was carried out together with